Quote Challenge – #2

Following on from yesterdays post … it’s day two of the quote challenge that Niki at The Richness of a Simple Life nominated me for … and here’s my quote of the day:

edmundburke377528

This has long been a favourite of mine. I first came across it when I was at university and I had to complete a museum review for my studies. It was engraved on an exhibit that housed little, tiny children’s shoes. Shoes of children who had perished in German concentration camps. The meaning being clear … when we see evil and injustice, cruelty or inhumanity in the world, we must take a stand. We must fight for decency and what is right. I see the relevance of this quote in so many aspects of life now. I’ve had three trips to southern Africa in the last couple of years and the poaching of magnificent animals like rhino and elephant made me think of this quote and the good people who are fighting every day to protect the unique wildlife of this world. Defend and aid those in need – I believe this quote is empowering in that respect.

Part of the challenge is for me to nominate three other bloggers to participate. I’m not entirely comfortable with that so … I’m going to recommend three blogs that I’ve really enjoyed reading. If those mentioned below would like to join in, then by all means, hit me with your best quotes! The rules should you choose to participate are as follows:

  • Post for three consecutive days
  • Posts can be one or three quotes per day
  • Nominate three different blogs per day

So, today’s lucky winners are:

Bellesmots2000

Danny at Dream Big Dream Often

Just Ponderin’

 

11 thoughts on “Quote Challenge – #2”

  1. I am familiar with this quote. For me, “Doing nothing,” is not the same as redirecting focus towards more uplifting subject matter. Sometimes I ask myself what I would gain from being political and antagonistic. I have been in the past. And the answer is I get to exhale but that’s it. I will not change anyone’s minds by engaging with the world at a lower frequency of thought. So, onward and upward.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. In Lao Tzu, the sage does nothing and all is well. This is different from doing nothing and then Hitler kills the Jews, or the Khomer Rouge takes over Cambodia. Here, there may be a way to dissolve them by receding and re-seeding, but failing this, if they try to harm those beautiful people, many of whom may be forced to join their armies, its Kumate! We need practice anyway. The same is occurring now in Syria to everyone, but especially the Christians. What if we helped the nice opposition guys to recede, to return with the refugees after the dust settles?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Totally understood. I think both politics & religion can be sensitive subjects if you’re going to start voicing your opinions too strongly or too often. Respecting that others think differently is important. And debating with someone who feels the opposite only leaves both of you frustrated 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right, but there is another side to this too. Not to be an opinion voicer or anything, but our inability to have discussions about important things is part of why the Khomer Rouge could become possessed by Marxist thought, while no one even studies or understands how this could come to be. Few people are capable of liberal discussion or the conversation necessary for true liberal arts. At St. Johns college in Annapolis, for example, they practice this art of conversation. The reign of stupidity that is the governing common opinion is America and the West is an example of the wrong kind of doing nothing. But of course is just our opinion, one equal opinion among many, no truer say than the opinions of a Jesus or a Hitler (sarcasm). We think the debate between Burke and Tom Paine ought not have happened, because lack the moderation necessary for learning.

      Like

      1. For me personally this quote isn’t political in nature. It’s more about “right and wrong”, than “right and left”.
        On your other point, I’m not sure I agree that there is an “inability to have discussions about important things” … In conjunction to my psych degrees, I have a Masters which focussed on genocide, globally speaking. In my experience there seems to be a lot of discussion about why & how these things happen (& not just in academic or political circles).
        Thanks for stopping by & leaving such a detailed, thoughtful response.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

