Snapshot – Etosha

Following on from my previous post on Kruger, I figured it would be fun to showcase another National Park. This time it’s Etosha in Namibia. Like Kruger, I’ve also visited Etosha on two occasions. My first trip was in August 2014 and then I returned in January 2015. It was quite interesting to see this place in two different seasons as the landscape changes quite noticeably. Both visits to the park were done while on a small group adventure tour withΒ G Adventures. In fairness, my return visit was not so much about re-visiting southern Africa but more to do with catching up with a friend. You see my tour guide, on my first trip, has become a really good friend. And when he told me he was retiring from guiding I decided to fly over and join him on his final tour. The rest was just a bonus πŸ™‚

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Sunrise!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A tower of giraffe!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The beautiful Oryx
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The salt pans of Etosha and its most photographed tree

Etosha is located in the northern part of Namibia and covers a little over 22,000 square kilometres. On both occasions we stayed at a camp ground calledΒ Okaukuejo. This camp ground does offer a variety of accommodation options from luxury chalets to good ol’ fashioned tents. We were opting with camping. I can tell you right now, pitching tents in the heights of the African summer is not fun! Particularly not the middle of the day! A short walk from where our tents were located is a waterhole. There is a barrier between you and the animals that frequent it but it’s a great location to just sit and watch the wildlife. We would venture down there late at night or early hours of the mornings to see who may have dropped by. Just remember, it’s a silent area … no talking which may spook the wildlife! In typical camping style, the group all chipped in to prepare dinner and the evening was filled with games and good conversation.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A storm front rolling in …
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Life and Death in Etosha … the carcass of a Blue Wildebeest, and two Ostrich walking by
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Impala
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Springbok

On both occasions the format for game drives was the same. The first day, we ventured out in the late afternoon with our amazing coach driver, Tim (after two trips with Tim, he has also become a valued friend). The following day is a full day in the open safari 4WD vehicles for some serious wildlife spotting. I just love the tough old Toyota Landcruisers … they so remind me of childhood camping trips back home in Australia.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Springbok, Zebra and Blue Wildebeest at the waterhole
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This herd of elephant had come stampeding out of nowhere … clearly thirsty!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Zebra and a lone giraffe
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
It’s a long way down …

Unlike Kruger, where the wildlife gets up close and personal, viewings in Etosha are typically at a little more of a distance. But not so far that you’d need binoculars or anything. Lots of the best wildlife sightings are to be found at the numerous watering holes throughout the park. Which can make for some spectacular photos … with different groups of animals all converging for a drink together. I should note though, we were really fortunate on my second trip when we ventured out with Tim one evening … we stopped in the middle of the dirt road while a pride of nine lions lazily made their way around our vehicle, only to decide to take a nap a couple of metres from us. Truly a great day!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A magnificent male lion
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The pride of nine … just chillin’
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cuddles with Dad

If you’ve read my previous two posts on Namibia (onΒ SossusvleiΒ andΒ Deadvlei) you’ll not be surprised that, once again, I’m going to recommend you add Etosha to your bucket list! And for good measure, just while you’re over that way … be sure to see Kruger in South Africa for comparisons sake. Actually, Chobe National Park in Botswana is worth a look too … it’s totally different from the two parks I’ve written about so far. You know what? Maybe just see all of southern Africa while you’re there … πŸ™‚

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A baby elephant!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
It’s not all big animals in Etosha
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Mum & bub
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Sunrise again

All photographs are the property of the author Β© Kim Richardson

28 thoughts on “Snapshot – Etosha”

  1. Your photos are BEAUTIFUL! I cannot imagine myself being so close to those animals. I would really love to, but something inside me is scared of being so close to them! I can only enjoy from afar by looking at pictures like yours! Thank you for sharing Kim =)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lili. That feedback on my photos means a lot to me. I don’t think you’re alone – lots of people find being so close and exposed around these animals a scary thought. They are wild after all. I think I just get lost in amazement & forget the potential dangers 😊

      Like

  2. Wow!! Thanks for taking me along! I enjoyed it very much! (Hint: spot on post for surprise challenge May 1st) I am going to send this link to my friend who is chosting with me! πŸ™‚ thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Those photos are incredible! You are so lucky to have visited Africa twice, and to have befriended one of your tour guides. I have never been to that amazing continent, but hope to go someday. Meanwhile, I really appreciate the photos of people who have gone, and are willing to share their experiences. Thank you!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Ann! I really appreciate the feedback on the post, especially on the photos. It’s an incredible continent. I’ve been three times in the last two years and still haven’t had enough! I will definitely be returning in 2017. It’s always fun catching up with my friend over there too, he’s quite a character πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Oh Kim, these are absolutely stunning photos, what an amazing experience for you. Reading your post made me feel like I was there with you, or at the very least like I need to go book a safari. What incredible memories. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Miriam! I really appreciate your feedback. It was such a great experience. I would recommend a safari to anyone who loves nature & the outdoors. And I know from your wonderful posts, that that description fits you perfectly! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, so very true Kim. In fact this is something that I’ve wanted to do for a long time. Seeing your wonderful posts has only reinforced that desire. Hopefully one day …

        Liked by 1 person

  5. That’s close! We’ve never got as close in any of our safaris. I’d be scared. Terrified! πŸ™‚ Great captures, Kim. Keep them coming. It’s going to be a while before we can start exploring Africa! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

