Snapshot … Chobe

As some of you will no doubt be aware by now, I’m participating in the A-Z Challenge this month. Given that today’s post must be about something starting with C and in light of my previous posts on Kruger & Etosha, I thought I’d cover yet another national park. This time it’s Chobe N.P in Botswana. Located in the north of the country, Chobe is just under
12,000 square kilometres in size. Which makes it significantly smaller than the previous two parks I’ve written about. Despite that, the old saying “size doesn’t matter” springs to mind as appropriate in this instance. For Chobe has an abundance of wildlife, particularly elephant, and the setting is quite unique.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Crocodile next to the boat
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Water Buffalo and Elephant
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A couple of hippo … too close for comfort!

Staying in the nearby town of Kasane, my excursion to Chobe took place over the course of a few hours one afternoon. It would be a safari with a difference … We’d be travelling via boat rather than 4WD or foot. Our group piled into a  boat to cruise up & down the Chobe river, marveling at the wildlife on the river banks and covering the many little islands found along the river. For those who are particularly keen photographers there are special boats which cater for you needs, using only carrying half a dozen people and seated in a fashion that will allow you clearer views.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A white-fronted bee-eater
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Another crocodile … hiding
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A lonely giraffe
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Elephant by the river

I found that a river safari was quite a relaxing, peaceful experience. I wouldn’t say better or worse than traditional game drives, just different. Although I will say it doesn’t have the same excitement factor that driving around searching for tracks in the bush does. I like that whole element of surprise when you spy some lions hidden in the shrubbery. The wildlife in Chobe is readily available as you cruise down the river. But the one thing that is the same? The spectacular sunsets …

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Elephant Sundowners
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Pretty sure I’ve never seen a sunset quite this red … before or since

This post is part of my contribution to the A to Z Challenge for April 2016

Click here for a link to all my challenge posts!

A2Z-BADGE_[2016]

30 thoughts on “Snapshot … Chobe”

  1. Yes! I agree with the others, before reading the comments the first thing that came to mind was stunning!!
    Second, oh my gosh! I can’t believe you’ve done the game drives! That sounds absolutely terrifying! You’re explaining seeing tracks and finding lions and I’m like people sign up to do that?! hahaha This one is more my speed. I’m glad that you’ve experienced both as you clearly have a love for animals and it’s wonderful that travels goes hand in hand with that 🙂

    Can’t wait to see tomorrow’s post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This version was much more laid back, no stalking wildlife through the scrub lol 🙂
      Heading into unknown territory with some videos for tomorrow’s post … should be interesting! Then switching continents for a while and throwing in some non-travel posts!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Deb! You’re so right. It’s a strange feeling isn’t it? Almost like a mini achievement when you finally spot something. I was so excited, on my last trip to South Africa, when I spotted a honey badger running around in the middle of the day. I’d never seen one in the wild before 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aaah, so beautiful! I especially loved the buffalo in one of the first pics, he looked like he was going to sneeze or something! Haha 🙂 Adorable. I am afraid of that crocodile though! Brrr… Great photos, thanks for sharing these!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

