Dance … the other universal language?

So I was originally going to do another travel Snapshot today for the A-Z Challenge (I was thinking about posting on DaNang in Vietnam) but then whilst flipping through my travel photos I started to notice something else … videos! For some reason I always skip over the videos. Which is ridiculous … I’ve watched so many today and they have transported me back to that time and place in a way the photos just can’t. I confess, its got me a little teary and emotional (in a good way, don’t worry!) reminiscing about some great experiences.

I’ve noticed a definite theme with my travel videos … they all revolve around dancing and music. There’s none on any other experience. Which got me thinking … why is that? The only answer I can come up with is that dancing, music, singing … these truly are universal. All cultures share in it. Whether it’s traditional dance or modern, it expressing something about who we are. It’s a common bond, something which people of all nations, all colour and creed, experience and participate in to some extent. And let’s face it … it’s so much fun! So today, I’m going to share just a few videos from my travels and hopefully the sounds and sights will have you dancing through some foreign lands (I’ll apologise in advance the quality is not great!)

First stop – Cappadocia in Turkey for some traditional dance:

P8070085

 

Next stop – the wild of the Okavango Delta in Botswana (this video is really dark … we were camping in isolated wilderness with no power or water):

P9040589

 

How about something modern? Fire Dancing at Railay Beach in Thailand:

PB060549.AVI

 

Finally, back to the traditionally with the white thai minority tribe in Mai Chau in Vietnam:

MOV00162

 

This post is part of my contribution to theΒ A – Z Challenge for April 2016

ClickΒ hereΒ for a link to all my challenge posts!

A2Z-BADGE_[2016]

18 thoughts on “Dance … the other universal language?”

  1. Love everything about this post Kim! I love that you branched out, tried something new, and it still incorporated the travel element. You’re right about dancing. I remember taking an anthropology class in college and one of the characteristics of a culture was song and dance. That much like a smile, is universal! I’m so glad that you got to experience those beautiful pieces of other cultures and that you were able to share them with us. I love where this challenge is taking you and I really enjoy reading what you write more often πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Niki! I’m so glad I figured out how to embed videos lol πŸ™‚
      I’ve incorporated some of your other helpful suggestions as well. Thank you so much for all your guidance!
      I was just commenting to Miriam, that it’s nice to look at what we have in common across our different cultures. A smile is universal indeed, and look at the joy that comes from something so small πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh my gosh! I totally forgot! I got so caught up with the other stuff we were talking about! I’m glad you were able to figure it out though, as frustrating as it can be it does give a greater sense of accomplishment πŸ˜‰

        Oh don’t mention it! I’m happy to help!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

