Snapshot – Mekong

After the little surprise yesterday of a post not based on a travel destination, I’m returning today to another snapshot. I started this A-Z Challenge blogging week with the letter “H” and an insight into a few Vietnamese cities, so I thought it would be a touch of symmetry to end it back in Vietnam. When it comes to bodies of water in Vietnam, most people will probably think of beautiful, relaxing, calming Halong Bay in the north (wow … I could’ve added that to H as well!). But I’m heading south, I want to take a look at the Mekong River and whats on offer there.

DSC00315
Stilt home on the Mekong
DSC00333
Stocking up for market
DSC00352
The floating market

I’ve been to Vietnam a couple of times and both times, I’ve finished my trip somewhere on the Mekong River. The first time I made my way down to river, under the multitude of monkey bridges, eventually ending up spending my last night in Vietnam at a riverside town called Chau Doc. In reality we nearly didn’t make it. As we explored the activity of the floating markets – sampling fresh pineapple and other tasty fruits – our little boat’s motor failed, leaving us floating aimlessly in the river …. heading into the path of a large barge. I can tell you, we were nervous and preparing to abandon ship! Crisis averted, we eventually made it to Chau Doc …. by bus. That evening, we climbed the nearby Sam Mountain and watched the sunset over the green fields of neighbouring Cambodia. It was probably one of my most memorable sunsets to date. The following morning, we left Vietnam … by boat. Heading down to Mekong River, through a couple of immigration checkpoints, it took us the better part of a day before we arrived in Phnom Penh, Cambodia’s vibrant capital city.

CCI10022012_00022
Looking out over Cambodia from Vietnam’s Sam Mountain
CCI10022012_00024
Sunset at Sam Mountain
DSC00286
Ice anyone?
DSC00287
Fresh produce!
DSC00295
The ladies at the local market (apologies for the blurry shot!)

My next trip to Vietnam ended a little differently. Departing Ho Chi Minh City from the wharves near the end of Dong Khoi street, we headed first to a little market town on a nearby island. The name of the island eludes me at present but it was pretty typical of most open air, street-side markets in the country. Ultimately, we bypassed the fruit and fresh produce and headed straight for the Vietnamese equivalent of a lolly-shop (or candy store if you prefer). The locals were cooking up a batch of the sweet, sticky popped rice – one of my favourite little snacks. And I had already spied the palm sugar candy elsewhere in the market, I would be going home with blocks of that delicious chewy goodness! We soon left the market, stopping by the riverside for lunch – deep friend whole fish in herbs, served upright between little wooden stakes, and a side of amazingly crunchy fried zucchini flower. Heading deeper into the little tributaries of the Mekong, we eventually got to the point where our boats could go no further in the shallow waters. We had to leg it on the foot the rest of the way to our destination for the evening. Walking along dusty dirt tracks, chickens and stray dogs under foot, children playing in the streets, we reach our homestay. Yep, we are spending the night at the home of a local family. Our rooms are located upstairs, they are relatively open and sparsely decorated but comfortable and welcoming. Our evening is spent in the hammocks in the gardens, chatting to the family, feasting on delicious home cooked meals, and playing games. If I can leave you with just one suggestion for a visit to the Mekong … do a homestay. They are the best way to immerse yourself into local life. You’ll have the time of your life.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
My room during my homestay on the Mekong
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The corridor outside our rooms (the lattice work on the right are entrances to the other rooms
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Making palm sugar candy!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cooking popped rice

This post is part of my contribution to the April 2017 A-Z Challenge

For a list and links to my other challenge posts, click here

For those interested in revisiting my 2016 challenge post for “M’, here’s the link: Snapshot – Mai Chau …. oddly enough it’s another homestay in Vietnam!

2017 Badge

16 thoughts on “Snapshot – Mekong”

  1. Interesting place. Glad that you enjoyed both the trips to Vietnam and got to experience the beautiful sunset atop the Sam mountain! I love the pictures you post along with your narrative. Gives us such a real feel of the place. Have a great weekend Kim 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Vietnam is on one of my places to visit list! Oh that reminds me your list was really sweet. 😊

    Such a vivid post, could smell the fish😊

    What’s cooking for N, Kim?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love Vietnam, I’d go back in a heartbeat! And yes, the food there is amazing!
      For N … I’m doing a post on somewhere here at home, in Australia. I don’t write about it much but N & S will definitely be Aussie locations 😀
      Any hints about what you’re doing for N?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah Australia is on my radar too. That will be nice.
        I’m still considering. Either a snippet from the current trip or a walk from the past.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Louise. That head photo is definitely a little different. I have another photo of what was next to that … it was a tray full of eye balls! I thought of including it but felt it might be insensitive to readers who get a bit queasy over that stuff 🙂 That mountain was an amazing place for a sunset, such a view!

      Like

    1. I’ve had some great experiences, Ann. I think adventure is different for everybody, I’m a very introverted person so some normal group social things that others wouldn’t bat an eyelid at, I would feel out of my comfort zone doing 🙂 Glad you’re enjoying reading my travel snippets!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

