CFFC: Isolated Subjects

Hello all! I’m still here! I haven’t gone and done and disappearing act again like I did after last year’s A-Z 🙂 But I am struggling with finding time to devote to writing and reading … and I envisage it’ll remain a struggle this month as I grapple with some major projects at work. So for the duration of May I may be sporadic with posting. Having said that, I couldn’t let Cee’s latest Fun Foto challenge pass by without submitting a photo. The theme is Isolated Subjects and I had a photo that I thought fit well.

This photograph was taken in January 2015, at Deadvlei in Namibia. Now for a more detailed description of Deadvlei you can click on that little link there and read about my visit but in short, Deadvlei in situated in the Namib Desert. It’s one of the oldest deserts in the world and home to some of the largest sand dunes. What you are looking at in the below picture is a lone, petrified, camel thorn tree (also known as an acacia tree). The trees here are up to 800 years old! The white patches are dried clay pans and that mass of burnt orange? Those are the dunes. You’ll notice I couldn’t even get the sky in that shot despite being some distance from the isolated tree, which should give you an idea of just how much those dunes really do tower over the site.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

18 thoughts on “CFFC: Isolated Subjects”

    1. Thank you, Pamela. Wow! I didn’t think of it that way but you’re absolutely correct. The photo isn’t just an isolated tree but a broader representation of the desert. Great feedback, thank you 🙂

      Like

    1. Thanks, Cheryl! Not quite disappeared lol. Just really under pressure with work right now but it should ease in early June and I’ll have plenty of time for the blogosphere. I’m with you … wish I could be everywhere too!! 😀

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment