Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Week 22 – Group

Time for a new theme for Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge … this time it’s Group. I won’t lie, when I first saw the theme I was thinking ” I don’t have any group shots!”. You see, my first thought on seeing the word “group” was a photo of a group of people. I have a thing about people photos … I just don’t like taking them. I don’t know why. I just want to photograph landscapes and wildlife πŸ™‚  

Anyway, I noticed that Hugh mentions it can be a group of objects or animals. Well, animal shots I have in abundance! So … this is the one I’ve settled on for a group. We spotted these elephants off in dense bush in Greater Kruger N.P in South Africa. Our guide initially drove into the trees and scrub to get us closer but the matriarch took offence at our proximity, so we backtracked to the dirt track to sit and patiently wait for the herd (or group given the theme lol) to cross the road. I’ve seen bigger herds of elephants but something about the warm tone of this shot really appeals to me.

IMG_0564

 Update: Thank you to Ronovan for selecting to feature this photo for the “group” theme. 

37 thoughts on “Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Week 22 – Group”

  1. What an amazing photo Kim. I have to admit that when I saw Hugh’s theme this week I immediately thought animals too. Despite posting photos of people. Again, we’re thinking alike. Hope you’ve had a lovely Friday. β™₯β™‘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Must be true what they say about great minds and all πŸ˜€
      I’ve had a busy but enjoyable Friday … Picking exterior paint colours for the house, it’s always a nightmare decision! Hope you’ve had a great day and have some lovely plans coming up for the long weekend xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Painting hey? Good luck with that Kim. I was trying to do a patch uo paint job in my kitchen this morning. Not overly successful! Long weekend plans a bit up in the air but still looking forward to it.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad I wasn’t the only one who struggled with “group” πŸ™‚
      Birds make for great group shots. I was initially going to post one of flamingos, lots of them! But the photo was quite washed out and the colours muted.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Cheryl. That’s exactly what they told us too … Very strong family ties. I’ve seen them start to get cranky a couple of times, it’s definitely intimidating! And the African elephant is so big, I wouldn’t want to mess with it lol πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Liesbet! Oh I can’t say enough about South Africa, I absolutely love it. Three trips there so far and planning a return to celebrate my 40th next year. Namibia, Botswana, Zambia … all equally as unique and incredible. I really hope you make it to South Africa one day – it’s one of those places that just gets under your skin. I have no doubt you know exactly what I mean πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do know what you mean and yes, I will get there. All I have been to – other than northern Africa – is the Gambia. Our ideal method to visit Africa is by camper to see the continent in depth (like our good German friends did a few years ago – they did make a photo book about it, since he is a professional photographer :-)), but we will wait for the “situation” in the middle east to become a bit more safe, especially with an American husband…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sounds like the ideal way to see Africa – it’s really got to be road, it’s such a massive continent and you want to see as much as you can. I bet the Gambia was amazing!!
        Oh yeah, probably a good point about hubby too. I’ve been kicking myself I didn’t see Syria when I was in Jordan and Turkey – I mean, it was RIGHT THERE! And I so easily dismissed it with “next trip”. But my focus as really shifted in the last couple of years and I’m very keen on Iran. I’ve heard great things!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. So much to be explored everywhere. I’d love to go to Iran as well. I need to stop thinking (and reading) about it now, or I will want to leave immediately. Time to rest up from traveling now, though. That is needed once in a while. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

